letter F L letter I letter C K letter R hangman tile red letter F letter U N

Rescheduled Time:

"One Tool at a Time" Webinar - Topic: Flickr Fun

Tuesday, Feb 15th at 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT/6:00pm MT/5:00pm PT

Presenter: Margaret Gaudino, Instructional Technology Specialist, Montgomery County Public Schools, MD


Description: Come learn some fun ways to use Flickr to support teaching and learning. Flickr has some great tools that allow you to select and share content with students. Participants will learn how to create Flickr Galleries, slide shows, and Geo-tag their photos. Margaret is currently an Instructional Technology Specialist in Montgomery County Public Schools, Maryland, developing and delivering professional development to support effective instructional strategies that integrate technology in the school library media center and classrooms. Margaret has been both a school library media specialist and an elementary classroom teacher. We will be using a Learn Central Elluminate Webinar room for tonight's session.

How to access the archive link: http://tinyurl.com/4u69dk6

Ideas for Using Flickr SlideShow Sets:

  • Activators to tap prior knowledge
  • Virtual Field trips: Building Vocabulary
  • To celebrate success!
  • Virtual Museums

http://www.flickr.com/photos/slm507/sets/72157624577942241/show/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nasacommons/sets/72157624523502725/show/

Ideas for Using Flickr Galleries:

  • Provide access to a collection of primary source content

  • Provide a collection for students to select from to use in digital projects
  • Create Activators to build background knowledge:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/slm507/galleries/72157625546182116/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/slm507/galleries/72157625420484585/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/slm507/galleries/72157625340181898/#photo_5181589759



Ideas for Geotagging:

  • Geography Lessons
  • Virtual Field trips
  • Learn about other cultures
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/church/map?&fLat=41.8973&fLon=12.4976&zl=7
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/monuments/map?&fLat=38.8826&fLon=-77.0274&zl=4
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/tomb/map?&fLat=30.0619&fLon=31.2574&zl=6

==


==

If you would like to share your Flickr User Name, You can add it below!

Name
User ID
Andrea Christman
christman26