Topic: GIS in Education: An Essential Tool for Any Classroom-Empowering Student Understanding and Teaching Thinking

Date: February 1, 2012 at 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT/6:00pm MT/5:00pm PT
Presenter: Barbaree Ash Duke, Educational Consultant in Curriculum Integration & GIS in Education
Topic: GIS in Education
Description:
barbareeduke_logo_cropped.pngJoin us for ideas so that you can use Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in the classroom tomorrow! Explore engaging, easy classroom activities that use cutting-edge Geo-Web 2.0 tools. We're highlighting the web-based mapping tools that will inspire students to learn. Geospatial technologies facilitate a learning environment for students to discover the whys and hows of their curriculum, to engage multiple intelligences and to think spatially. These technologies offer unique opportunities to incorporate 21st Century skills by expanding the scope of curriculum to tap into cognitive research strategies through studying local and global issues across all content areas. We will share geospatial tools, ready-to-use resources, lesson plans and experiences. Let’s go exploring together!
For more than 20 years Barbaree Ash Duke has been a veteran classroom teacher and an educational consultant with GISetc in Curriculum Integration and GIS in Education based in Covington, LA. She taught English Language Arts in grades 6-12 as well as technology and GIS electives. Barbaree earned her bachelor's degree in Secondary Education with a concentration in English at Baylor University and taught for 15 years in Texas, Alabama and North Carolina. An early zeal for finding what makes students learn best introduced her to technology and differentiation techniques. She's been integrating GIS into her the classroom since 2000. Annually you can see her presenting at GIS, technology and education conferences, teaching professional development and writing curriculum for K-12 classrooms. Along with numerous articles on integrating geospatial technologies into the classroom, she’s authored two books: 20 Minute GIS for Young Explorers as well as a solo work, Reading, Writing and Thinking around the Globe: Geospatial Technologies for English Language Arts and Beyond. Barbaree also serves as the webinar manager for the National Council for Geographic Education. When she's not travelling, blogging or creating, you'll find her tutoring students in reading and math most weekday afternoons. She has many free resources on her website. Her hands-on, realistic approach to education gives teachers and students a comfortable place to learn while offering fresh, practical ideas to improve the classroom environment.

Recorded Webinar HERE: http://goo.gl/mbmNy


Webinar Handout